Friday, May 20, 2011

KC Symphony, Michael Stern discusses Brahms, Beethoven, Prokofiev

BRAHMS Rhapsody for Alto, Male Chorus, and Orchestra
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 1
PROKOFIEV Alexander Nevsky Cantata

Beethoven didn't compose his first symphony until he was nearly 30 years old. His first foray into the symphony, however, yields a mature and individual work, providing glimpses of the titan to come. At home on both concert stage and the opera stage, mezzo-soprano Sasha Cooke joins the Symphony to perform Brahms' moody and agitated setting of Goethe's text in the Alto Rhapsody. The Symphony Chorus joins Cooke and Michael Stern in Sergei Prokofiev's searing and powerful Alexander Nevsky Cantata, based on his score for Sergei Eisenstein's film, and considered by many to be the finest marriage of music and cinema ever created. Purchase tickets at or call (816) 471-0400 today!

No comments:

Post a Comment